film festival

Hello-
First of all, a sincere THANK YOU for the response to Ghosts. We are all amazed at the reaction for what we assumed would be a quiet curiosity in the NIN catalog. My faith in all of you has been restored – let’s all go have coffee somewhere (my treat)!

Today we announce the expansion of the Ghosts project into the visual world. This record began as an experiment with us using sound as a means to describe visuals. Early in the project we thought it would be interesting to see what the community could create / collaborate on as a reaction to the music we were making. We wanted to keep the canvas as blank as possible for you, hence the lack of descriptive song titles and the primarily textural artwork and packaging.

So here’s the plan: we’ve teamed up with YouTube to host a “film festival” around Ghosts. The concept is for you to take whatever tracks you feel inspired by from Ghosts and create what you feel should accompany them visually. You will be able to see all of the submissions, and a team of us (including me) will be sorting through them and setting aside ones we feel are exceptional. Eventually (within a couple of months?) we will present a virtual “film festival” with me and some special guests presenting selections of your work.

This isn’t a contest and you don’t win elaborate prizes – it’s meant to be an experiment in collaboration and a chance for us to interact beyond the typical one-way artist-to-fan relationship. We’ve discussed some interesting ways this could go, including multiple installments of the online “film festivals,” to broadcast TV specials, to a one-time live performance of the entire Ghosts record with your visuals involved. It really depends on how this progresses and develops.

We are all very much looking forward to what you come up with, and hope you enjoy the experience. Visit our YouTube channel later today for information on how to participate.
TR

posted by Trent Reznor at 10:42 am pst, from los angeles

comments @ nin.com

added: updated at march 18, 2008 with this message, who disappeared some hours later:

**UPDATE**
Exciting PERFORMANCE NEWS!

and that was an official update, so shake your fists at trent, not at the webmaster of this archive…

47 thoughts on “film festival

  1. Pingback: Open Invitation « The Woo Woo Teacup Journal

  2. I'm sorry. I can't hear you over the sound of how awesome NIN is

    Chris, I totally agree ! Has anyone actually met meathead ? Usually I get pissed off when people make fun of NIN but he just does it with hilarious doses of cynicism.;)
    Best of luck to any artists entering the comp !

    Reply
  3. lotus

    What a great idea I LOVE LOVE LOVE creating, getting my camera ready now;) /me grinds some fair trade coffee beans and gets the coffee pot ready.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Trent Reznor’s Radiohead smackdown - - mathewingram.com/work

  5. Corie

    What the hell was that? I was all excited for performance info and all the sudden that ridiculously terrible song starts playing and the window jumps all over the screen?

    Has the perimeter been penetrated? Have we been infiltrated? Or was that intentional!?

    Reply
  6. Kyle

    One time performance? So LA gets to have all the fun? I say if you are going to do performances do a few across the country. Let everyone have a chance to experience it.

    Reply
  7. Corie

    Thanks Dori. I was thinkng the Bureau of Morality was messing with me or something? Haha. Clearly Trent and Rob need some entertainment in LA!

    Reply
  8. Valeria

    Aaaaah, I’ve nearly wet my pants… Hey, it was REALLY scary!! But…it made my day!! Still next time think of people like me who can easily have heart attack when THIS pops out….

    Reply
  9. I'm sorry. I can't hear you over the sound of how awesome NIN is

    huh ? what happened ? please elaborate for the rest of us who aren’t lucky enough to be in LA, or even North America for that matter !😉

    Reply
  10. I'm sorry. I can't hear you over the sound of how awesome NIN is

    oh i hadn’t seen it yet, i meant that you’re killing me with suspense but seriously WHAT THE FUCK WAS THAT !??!!? I was doing my med school application and now the whole thing is gone ! nooooooooooooooo😦 well serves me right for not saving it but still ! And it wasn’t even worth it ! Some ugly ass man writhing about like he has diarrhoea !! arghghgh !! heh Seriously, Trent is being cruel falsely enticing us with a live performance !

    Reply
  11. Allison

    Does anyone else think that “exciting update” was hilarious…couldn’t close the damn thing…lol

    Reply
  12. Dori Doreau

    @ hybrid756
    imagine how embarrassed and ashamed trent must feel if he wastes some time to check the comments on his blog, just to learn that he still attracts all the loonies out there:mrgreen:

    Reply
  13. Pingback: Channeling Trent « The Woo Woo Teacup Journal

  14. Tetsuo

    Can someone tell me the right party/address to send packages to, in order to contact NIN?

    Reply
  15. Tetsuo

    Yeah, I realised – just as I sent that – exactly how suss it actually sounded. Oops. It was actually a script though, though now I realise exactly how pathetic THAT in itself kinda sounds.

    Reply
  16. 3 1/2 cm nails

    I’m looking for an update on the Ghost Film Festival. What is the deadline? Or is it over? Who won? What happened? Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

