Welcome, Ilan!

ilan-nin-705391

With great pride and excitement I announce the addition of Ilan Rubin to the lineup beginning next year. I had the chance to see Ilan playing his ass off at Reading and Leeds a couple summers ago and he blew me away. We recently invited him out to rehearse with us and he blew US away – the perfect guy to pick up the sticks after Josh leaves us at the end of the year.

Stay tuned for some 2009 tour announcements soon.

** UPDATE **
The New Regime is Ilan’s one man band project. The debut record COUP is out now.
check it out

posted by trent reznor at 6:09pm

discuss @ nin.com

added: more about ilan rubin and his former band lostprophets. and you can watch his drumming here.

20 thoughts on “Welcome, Ilan!

  1. Kimby

    Interestingly, before Lostprophets found him, they hired Josh Freese as a session drummer to record their album Liberation Transmission.

    I don’t know much else about him, but I trust the boys’ judgment – I’m sure he’ll be awesome. Josh will be missed greatly though.

    Reply
  2. peefer

    unexpected… Josh Freese, we’ll miss you.
    nonetheless, welcome aboard the NIN camp, Mr. Rubin! hope to see you in a live setting soon

    Reply
  3. Lil_Wish

    @alejita – I feel the same way🙂 what a lucky kid!
    I would never expect such a young guy to join the band like NIN but it sounds refreshing🙂
    I hope Trent is not getting obsessed with youth. He has stressed the fact that ‘HE IS SO OLD NOW’ in many interviews recently…

    Reply
  4. someone

    “< Josh Freese”. Have you ever watched him play live? Are you a drummer? Or are you just a huge Josh Freese fan who is sorry to see him go? I’m guessing the third, which would completely explain you’re original suggestion.

    Reply
  5. alejita

    @Dori Doreau

    trent spirit is young and looks young for my, i guess the point is in the talent not in the youth.

    Reply
  6. cherry_twist

    wow, that boy IS young!!! hell, i thought i was young and he is EVEN younger than me!!! but kudos to him! must be so proud to join such a big band at such a young age! nice hair, too! LOL

    Reply
  7. Jav'

    I saw him with LP last summer, I wasn’t really convinced
    He makes more noise than music to me…
    I hope he proves me wrong when he’ll join NIN

    Reply
  8. frustrateddrummer

    “he makes more noise than music to me”. No shit? How does a drummer make music. Drums keep a beat. They make noise.

    Reply
  9. noone

    ““< Josh Freese”. Have you ever watched him play live? Are you a drummer? Or are you just a huge Josh Freese fan who is sorry to see him go? I’m guessing the third, which would completely explain you’re original suggestion.”

    I’ve seen him with nin twice, I’m a drummer I’ve been playing for 4 or 5 years, and I am a Josh Freese fan.

    Reply
  10. Cory

    Wow, 10 years younger than me!

    Very cool, can’t wait to see him live. There’s some big shoes to fill behind that drum kit.

    Reply
  11. cherry_twist

    i have long curly hair! will trent become obsessed with me too!!!! hahaha he shud hire me as a background singer! lol! :D:D:D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

