2.16.09: A note from Trent and a wave goodbye

Towards the beginning of my career in Nine Inch Nails, our biggest break came in the form of an invitation to perform a series of shows with Jane’s Addiction. These performances essentially created and defined the term “alternative” rock in the US, created an ongoing festival franchise that is still thriving (Lollapalooza), set the stage for Nirvana to shift popular taste a few months later, and were really fucking FUN to play and attend – truly the best times I’ve had. The shows were epic. So epic, they propelled NIN to the “next level” (whatever that means), but caused Jane’s to implode. The band broke up at the end of that tour.

Fast forward to the present. Corporate rock STILL sucks. A friend tells me they saw the original Jane’s lineup play a tiny show in LA that was unbelievable. I break out my Jane’s records and am amazed by how vital they sound. These guys were the real deal and in this current climate mostly dominated by poseurs and pussies it was refreshing to hear something that sounded dangerous, volatile, beautiful and SINCERE.
Emails were sent, phone calls were made, dinner was arranged, ideas were discussed and the next thing I know we’re in the studio experimenting. We laugh, we get to know each other, we cry, we yell, we almost quit, we record LOTS of guitar solos, we discuss, we actually begin to all communicate, we yell some more, we become FRIENDS, we laugh again and we do some great things. I get to see first hand why they broke up all those years ago but I also get the chance to see four distinct personalities that become an INCREDIBLE band when they’re in the same room.

In NIN world, 2009 marks the 20th anniversary of our first releases. I’ve been thinking for some time now it’s time to make NIN disappear for a while. Last year’s “Lights in the Sky” tour was something I’m quite proud of and seems like the culmination of what I could pull off in terms of an elaborate production. It was also quite difficult to pull off technically and physically night after night and left us all a bit dazed. After some thought, we decided to book a last run of shows across the globe this year. The approach to these shows is quite different from last year – much more raw, spontaneous and less scripted. Fun for us and a different way for you to see us and wave goodbye. I reached out to Jane’s to see if they’d want to join us across the US and we all felt it could be a great thing. Will it work? Will it resonate in the marketplace? Who knows. Is there big record label marketing dollars to convince you to attend? Nope.
Does it feel right to us and does it seem like it will be fun for us and you? Yes it does.
Look for tour dates soon and I hope to see you out there.

Trent

posted by trent reznor at 2:57pm (auckland, new zealand)

discuss @ nin.com
(please use this link if you want to leave a message for trent)

17 thoughts on “2.16.09: A note from Trent and a wave goodbye

  1. Hardy

    Trent, I’m 34 years old, I’m an engineer, and I consider myself a “normal”, relatively average dude.
    I’ve been a fan since PHM.
    I just want to say, I appreciate your sincerity so much, and what ever you decide to do in the long run with NIN, I hope that you someway, somehow stay in music one way, or the other.
    Music desperately needs people with your spirit, and your “middle-finger” attitude-when the time comes-to let fans know that not every one in the spot light is trying to manipulate them, weaken them, and then once they get ’em down, get as much as they can ($) out of ’em.

    Thanks for 20 great years (sorry if that sounds cheesy), and I can’t wait to see you and Jane’s.

    Reply
  2. Dori Doreau

    @ Hardy
    he won’t read it since this blog has no connection with nin, it’s a fan project. click on “discuss @ nin.com” to go to the thread on the nin.com forum and say what you wrote here.

    besides that – he didn’t say he’ll end making music. he said he’ll take a break (and he deserves a long one) from nin. i doubt he’ll stop making music at all. we’ll see what the future will bring.

    Reply
  3. Brian

    Well, it looks like my wife and I are going to have to make it to more than one show. Trent’s output as of late has been a real gift and I won’t be looking forward to the great void between now and his next NIN production.

    I’m sure he’ll find something to entertain us with in the meantime.🙂

    Reply
  4. Overand

    Wow. Thanks for the last opportunity! 10-year-fan, but only saw that one With Teeth, show in Portland, Maine. The make-up one, when you got sick, and you fucked up a song – and it kicked ass. =]

    Reply
  5. timofcourse

    Talk about a bittersweet post. Love Janes, Lolla and most of all NIN. To see this all come together in a close intimate experience is going to be one I will surely not miss. However the fact that this is the last run of NIN really, really sucks. Ive seen numerous shows throughout the years and never, ever have the felt old or dated.

    I look forward to every new show as I will be looking forward to these. I’ll take a bit of comfort in the fact that the “for a while” was added as opposed to “forever” and I REALLY hope you follow through on some of those ideas mentioned in your LV 12/13 interview. And if these last two years told us anything, theres no friggin way we wont be hearing something creative from you in the near future, NIN or otherwise.

    I’m super stoked for this next/last round of shows and pray that you all dont call it quits before you make it to my town!🙂

    Good luck, Trent and the rest of you guys and look forward to what Im sure will be one of the best shows yet.

    Oh and thanks for all the free (and great) stuff these last couple years!!

    Reply
  6. dospajaros

    The Portland show was fantastic. “You guys got to see me fuck up the Big Come Down”. Classic.
    I’ve been to 4 shows, and each one has been mind blowing. I’ve also seen Jane’s, and it was fantastic.
    But I’m not ready to see them both together, knowing it’s the “last” time. So, I’m gonna hold my breath for more music after Trent takes a nice, long rest. Take 10 years. Just come back for a once-upon-a-time-fuck. In our ears.🙂

    Reply
  7. Lauren Saint-Onge

    *mouth drops

    please at least don’t stop producing work. i won’t be able to survive more than 2 years.

    Reply
  8. Distant Samantha

    Thank you. For all that you’ve done over these years. I can’t find the words to describe how much I appreciate you and the guys you’ve worked with.
    Come back when / if you feel like it’s time to come back. We will be waiting.

    Reply
  9. deletia

    I saw NIN in Prague when I was 21 years old, 14 years ago, and I’ve been to shows here and there since, for the last two fifths of my life. almost half my life really– and for all that time NIN has been my lifeline, my sanity in a fucked up sort of way. There’s other good music too, thank god, but Trent, ah Trent! Thank you for everything.

    Reply
  10. Aroha

    Thank you so much for coming to New Zealand and playing in Auckland last night – your music has inspired me in so many ways and I am so pleased to finally have been given the chance to see you life. It makes the experience even sweeter knowing that you visited us, when this could be your last tour ever. Thank you Trent, and best of luck with everything you do from now on.

    Reply
  11. Jeremy

    Trent,
    Along with many here I consider myself to be a now normal dude about to hit 30 and as with most have been a fan your whole career. My first concert ever was your Downward Spiral tour in Minneapolis when I was 15 years old. I’ve been to every show in the Twin Cities since and have even ventured outside for a couple more. I knew this incredible run would come to an end but with all the traction you’ve gotten lately I never would have guessed right now. Even as my life slowed and I’ve become more “civilized” I felt like your music grew with me down that same path, thank you. (of course that’s probably just my own biased assessment, take with what you will). I’ve never missed a bell or whistle you’ve created so with that if NIN is done I hope TRENT is not. After all it is your music I am a true fan of not necessarily NIN. God bless can’t wait for the new tour.

    Reply
  12. Dori Doreau

    i don’t know if i want to *facepalm* or if i want to *cry*… i think i’ll try both at the same time🙄

    just in case anyone reads what i write here: leaving messages for trent on this blog is a waste of your time. this is an archive. made by a fan. there’s zero chance that trent will read anything you write here. if you want to leave a message for him, do it in the forum at nin.com. the link’s under the blog entry.

    *sigh*

    Reply
  13. Steve Croce

    The last time I got to see you live was September 17, 1995 in Hershey, PA. Unfortunately, since I too am an entertainer, I haven’t been able to come see you since. If you come to Philly one more time and make it on a weekday, I promise to bring you a case of Frank’s Black Cherry Wishniak Soda. Or a soft pretzel. Your choice.

    Reply
  14. Pingback: Nine Inch Nails - Grasscity.com Forums

Leave a Reply

